Skip to main content
Add to favourites

Katherine Johnson

About

Katherine JohnsonKatherine Johnson is an award-winning author and former CSIRO science journalist. She grew up along the fig tree-lined Brisbane River, and now lives on a cliff top overlooking the ocean with her husband and two children, just south of Hobart.

Her first novel, Pescador’s Wake, was published by Fourth Estate in 2009. Her second novel, The Better Son, was published by Ventura Press in 2016.

The manuscript of The Better Son (previously titled Kubla) won the The University of Tasmania Prize for best unpublished manuscript and the People’s Choice Award for the same prize in the 2013 Tasmanian Literary Prizes (now the Premier’s Literary Prizes). It was also the winner of the 2013 Varuna HarperCollins Manuscript Development Award.

‘The Better Son maps an emotional landscape as shifting and precarious as the limestone country so splendidly evoked here. Katherine Johnson is a sure-footed guide to lives hollowed out by secrets that reach deep into the past’
Michelle de Kretser, winner Miles Franklin Literary Award 2013

‘A gripping story of loss, trauma and the devastating impact of family secrets, The Better Son is a literary thriller that haunts the reader well beyond its final page’
Rachel Power, author of Creativity and Motherhood: The Divided Heart

‘A fabulous read: moving, haunting, at times devastating, redemptive, and so evocative of the Mole Creek area’
Vern Field, editor of Island Magazine

‘Fans of Alex Miller and Michelle de Kretser will enjoy this deep and imaginative story with nuanced and relatable characterisation’
Hannah Cartmel, Books + Publishing