Skip to main content
Add to favourites

Celebrating the best Tasmanian stories and writers


Tasmania’s vibrant arts and cultural sector is gaining an international reputation and fast becoming a recognised drawcard for visitors to the state. Literary talent is flourishing in Tasmania and our state is a source of inspiration for writers around Australia and the world.

The Premier’s Literary Prizes, the Tasmanian State Government’s literary awards, celebrate the richness of the Tasmanian literary sector and acknowledge the particular influence that Tasmania has on written work.

Rise and Fall of Gunns book cover

Winner of the 2015 Tasmania Book Prize

The prizes provide recognition for both established and emerging Tasmanian writers, as well as acknowledging the increasing influence Tasmania has on authors globally. They also recognise the work of emerging and young writers and provide a mechanism to recognise and nurture new voices.

The judges have announced the longlists for the Tasmania Book Prize and Margaret Scott Prize with the shortlists to be announced on stage at the Theatre Royal during  Tasmanian Writers and Readers Festival in September. You’ll be able to read extracts from all the shortlisted books and manuscripts here on the Tasmanian Arts Guide and vote in our People’s Choice Awards go in the draw to win a copy of all the 20 longlisted books!

The winners of the Premier’s Literary Prizes will be revealed at a gala event at Government House at the end of November.

Past winners

While waiting for the judges to make some difficult decisions, we’ve put together a list of the books that have won the prizes from 2007 to 2015. This is a great starting point for anyone who wants to read more about Tasmania or work by Tasmanian writers. You can find these books at all good bookshops and libraries.

*Winner of the University of Tasmania Prize for best unpublished work in 2013. The manuscript, entitled Kubla has since been published as The Better Son.