Skip to main content

2017 Premier’s Literary Prizes – shortlists

Premier's Literary PrizesCongratulations to all the writers shortlisted for the 2017 Premier’s Literary Prizes.

Tasmania Book Prize

This award of $25 000 recognises the influence Tasmania has had on content or perspective and is supported by the Tasmanian Government. Writers or publishers based anywhere are eligible for this prize if Tasmania has had some influence on its content.


  • Losing Streak by James Boyce (Black Inc.)
  • Archipelago of Souls by Gregory Day (Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Physick by Pete Hay (Shoestring Press)
  • Into the Heart of Tasmania by Rebe Taylor (Melbourne University Publishing)

The Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship

This $5 000 prize is awarded to a young writer (aged 30 years and under) and is generously supported by philanthropists who wish to remain anonymous.

The Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship celebrates the strength and breadth of young Tasmanian writing and acknowledges that talent is evident regardless of age or career history.


  • Michael Blake
  • Erin Hortle
  • Sarah Jaeger
  • Emily Spratt

Margaret Scott Prize

This $5 000 award is supported by the University of Tasmania. The prize honours author, poet, educator and public intellectual Margaret Scott (1934–2005).


  • The White Room Poems by Anne Kellas (Walleah Press)
  • South Pole by Elizabeth Leane (Reaktion Books)
  • The Museum of Modern Love by Heather Rose (Allen & Unwin)

University of Tasmania Prize

This $5 000 award is supported by the University of Tasmania. It is open to writers of theatrical works, literary fiction and non-fiction for adults or children, poetry and graphic novels who have had a limited number of works published.


  • A Son of the Moon by Kerri Guardia
  • Two Sets of Books by Ruairi Murphy
  • Brodsky Dies by Adam Ouston
  • A Guide to Bushwalking in Tasmania by Ben Walter

Vote now in the People’s Choice Awards

Voting is now open in the People’s Choice Awards. By voting you can go into the draw to win all 20 longlisted books and an invitation to the gala announcement of the winners of the 2017 Premier’s Literary Prizes at Government House on 27 November 2017. Click here to vote.

Click here to see longlists for the Tasmania Book Prize and the Margaret Scott Prize.

About the prizes

The Premier’s Literary Prizes, the Tasmanian State Government’s literary awards, celebrate the richness of the Tasmanian literary sector and acknowledge the particular influence that Tasmania has on written work.

They include literary fiction, writing about politics and society, travel writing, poetry, histories and graphic novels.

The prizes are judged by an independent panel from the literary sector, chaired by Professor Hamish Maxwell-Stewart.

The winners of all four prizes and the People’s Choice Awards for the first three categories will be announced at an event at Government House on 27 November 2017.

Arts Tasmania delivers the prizes with the support of the University of Tasmania and a private philanthropist.