Skip to main content

2019 Judges

Past winnersFrequently Asked Questions (FAQs)2019 JudgesLonglists

Book Prizes Panel

Tasmania Book Prize and Margaret Scott Prize

Professor Lucy Frost (chair)

Professor Lucy Frost, Chair, Book Prize Panel, 2019Professor Lucy Frost is a writer and researcher with a particular interest in the effects of convict transportation on the experiences of women and children. She has authored and edited twelve books. Her most recent work, A Spanish Convict in Colonial Australia, co-written with Susan Ballyn was published in 2018 in Barcelona in both Spanish and English. She is a member of the “Founders and Survivors” project team, and is currently writing a book about children apprenticed from the Orphan Schools of Tasmania.

Jane Rawson

Jane RawsonJane Rawson is the author of two novels, a novella and a non-fiction guide to surviving climate change, co-authored with James Whitmore. Her short fiction and essays have been published by Meanjin, Overland, Review of Australian Fiction, Kill Your Darlings, Australian Book Review, Seizure and Tincture. Her most recent novel, From the Wreck (2017), won the Aurealis Award for Best Science Fiction Novel, was shortlisted for the Barbara Jefferis Award, the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction and the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. It was also long listed for the Miles Franklin Literary Award and the Voss Literary Prize.  Jane is writing a new novel, Awkward Familiars, which is funded by the Copyright Agency and the Australia Council for the Arts. She works as a public servant in the field of energy efficiency and has recently relocated to the Huon Valley from Melbourne.

Dr Robert Clarke

Dr Robart Clarke, Book Prize Panel, 2019Dr Robert Clarke is Senior Lecturer in English in the School of Humanities, University of Tasmania. He is the author of Travel Writing from Black Australia: Utopia, Melancholia, and Aboriginality (Routledge 2016), editor of The Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Travel Writing (CUP 2018), and co-editor of Dark Tourism (special issue of Postcolonial Studies, Sept. 2014, with Anna Johnston and Jacqueline Dutton), and Travel Writing and Tasmania (special issue of Studies in Travel Writing, Feb 2016, with Anna Johnston).

Emerging Prizes Panel

Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship and the University of Tasmania Prize

Dr Natasha Cica (Chair)

Dr Natasha Cica, Chair, Emerging Prizes PanelDr Natasha Cica is the founding director of change consultancy She is a former CEO of Heide Museum of Modern Art and established the Inglis Clark Centre at the University of Tasmania.  Natasha was an Inaugural Sidney Myer Creative Fellow and has been recognised by the Australian Financial Review as one of Australia’s 100 Women of Influence. Her publications include Pedder Dreaming (UQP, 2011) and GriffithREVIEW 39: Tasmania – The Tipping Point (Text, 2013).  She is an honorary professor at the ANU College of Law at the Australian National University.  Natasha currently lives in Hobart, Tasmania.

Rohan Wilson

Rohan Wilson, Emerging Prizes Panel, 2019Rohan Wilson is a writer, teacher, and critic. He is the author of three novels, The Roving Party (2011) To Name Those Lost (2014), and Daughter of Bad Times (2019). His work has won numerous awards, including the 2011 The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award, the 2015 Victorian Premier’s Award, and the 2016 Adelaide Festival Award. He currently lectures in Creative Writing at Queensland University of Technology. His academic research focuses on fiction’s problematic relationship with history and the ways in which the Australian novel imagines its connection to the past.

Dr Graeme Miles

Dr Graeme Miles, Emerging Prizes Panel, 2019Graeme Miles has published two collections of poems: Recurrence (John Leonard Press, 2012) and Phosphorescence (Fremantle Press, 2006), the first of which was shortlisted for the WA Premier’s Prize. His third collection of poems, Infernal Topographies, is to be released with the University of Western Australia Press in 2020. He has received a Doctor of Philosophy in Classics at the University of Western Australia, has been an Asialink writer in residence at the University of Madras, and a research fellow at the University of Ghent, Belgium. He now lives in Hobart and lectures in Classics at the University of Tasmania.