Skip to main content

Margaret Scott Prize – $5 000

Past winnersFrequently Asked Questions (FAQs)2019 JudgesLonglists
University of Tasmania and Tasmanian Government logos
This award is for the best book by a Tasmanian writer.

Entries are now closed.

Terms and conditions


  1. A book is defined as a paper-based publication that is available for sale.
  2. A Tasmanian writer is defined as one who has resided in Tasmania for six of the last 12 months.
  3. The nominated book must have been published in English for the first time between 1 April 2017 and 30 April 2019.
  4. Authors must be living on the date of entry.
  5. Books by Tasmanian writers may be eligible for both the Tasmania Book Prize and the Margaret Scott Prize.
  6. If Arts Tasmania determines that a nominated title is not eligible the entry fee will be refunded. The decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.


  1. Entry fee: AU$40 (plus GST) for each entry in each prize category.
  2. Entries will only be accepted from publishers or authors.
  3. It is the responsibility of the nominator to make sure that they have the author’s permission nominating the work.
  4. Publishers or authors must complete the online entry form including payment and send the receipt with four copies of the nominated title to Arts Tasmania, postmarked by the closing date. Where a book is eligible for more than one prize there is no need to submit more than four copies.
  5. Nominees will receive confirmation of their entries and receipt of payment.
  6. The closing date for entries is 27 June 2019.


  1. A panel of three judges, selected by the Premier’s Literary Prizes Advisory Committee, will judge the entries for both the Tasmania Book Prize and the Margaret Scott Prize.
  2. All decisions are final and no discussion or correspondence shall be entered into regarding the judging process.

Promotion and marketing

  1. Copies of nominated books received will become the property of Arts Tasmania and will not be returned to publishers. Copies may be used for marketing purposes by Arts Tasmania.
  2. If a title is longlisted, nominators will be required to provide an additional four copies of the book to Arts Tasmania for promotional purposes.
  3. Shortlisted authors may be required for press interviews and promotional purposes before and after the announcement of the prizes.
  4. Shortlisted authors must make themselves available to participate in the Premier’s Literary Prizes shortlist announcement event expected to be held in October 2019 and the winners’ announcement event in December 2019. Both of these events will be held in Hobart.
  5. Each shortlisted author/publisher will provide Arts Tasmania with an excerpt from their book and allow Arts Tasmania to reproduce and disseminate it for promotional purposes.

Breach of the terms and conditions will render an entry invalid.