Skip to main content

The Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship – $5 000

Past winnersFrequently Asked Questions (FAQs)2019 JudgesLonglists

The Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship is awarded to a young Tasmanian writer (aged 30 years and under).   It celebrates the strength and breadth of young Tasmanian writing. This prize is intended to:

  • encourage young writers to see themselves as an integral and important part of the Tasmanian writing community
  • encourage young writers to interact with events like the Premier’s Literary Prizes as industry validation of young writers’ talent
  • financially assist a young Tasmanian writer
  • acknowledge the State that inspires them and the artists who deserve recognition within it.

The Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship is awarded to the writer – it is not awarded to a particular work. It is a stand-alone celebration of a writer’s abilities.

Nominating for the Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship

To apply for the Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship, applicants will need to submit a ten-page sample of their work.


  • should demonstrate their literary talent
  • can be a sample from any style or genre. Styles or genres can include anything including (but not limited to):  prose, poetry, play script, essay, writing for children etc.
  • could include several different pieces – or be a sample from a larger work.

Three writers will be shortlisted.  These writers will then be asked to provide a larger sample of their work.

The Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship is designed to support emerging young writers. Two years after receiving the award, the recipient will be asked to write an artist statement articulating where their writing has led them, or how it has evolved. This is designed to encourage future entries.

The Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship is generously supported by philanthropists who wish to remain anonymous.

Entries are now closed.

Terms and conditions


  1. Nominees must be 30-years-old or younger on 30 April 2019.
  2. A Tasmanian writer is defined as one who has resided in Tasmania for six of the last 12 months.
  3. The writer must be living on the date of entry.
  4. Writing submitted may include non-fiction or fiction for adults or children, graphic novels, poetry or play scripts.
  5. A writer cannot receive the prize more than once. However, writers who have previously nominated but not won can enter again.
  6. Writers nominating for the Tasmanian Young Writer’s Prize are also eligible to enter works in the other Premier’s Literary Prizes categories.
  7. If Arts Tasmania determines that a writer is not eligible the entry fee will be refunded. The decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.


  1. Entry fee: AU$40 (plus GST).
  2. Nominations will only be accepted from the writer.
  3. Writers must complete the online entry form including payment details and upload a ten-page writing sample (in PDF or Word format) by the closing date.
  4. The writing sample must be typed and double-spaced.
  5. The title of the work or works should be at the top of the submission, but no identifying names of the writer should appear on the document.
  6. To avoid any form of bias, manuscripts will be judged blind. Writers’ identities will not be known by any judge until after the shortlist is finalised.
  7. Nominees will receive confirmation of their entry and receipt of payment.
  8. The closing date for nominations is 27 June 2019.


  1. A panel of three judges, selected by the Premier’s Literary Prizes Advisory Committee, will judge the entries for both the University of Tasmania Prize and the Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship.
  2. Arts Tasmania has the right to request proof of eligibility.
  3. All decisions are final and no discussion or correspondence shall be entered into regarding the judging process.

Promotion and marketing

  1. The three shortlisted writers will be asked to provide a larger sample of their work.
  2. Shortlisted writers may be required for press interviews and promotional purposes before and after the announcement of the prizes.
  3. Shortlisted writers must make themselves available to participate in the Premier’s Literary Prizes shortlist announcement event expected to be held in October 2019 and the winners’ announcement event in December 2019. Both of these events will be held in Hobart.

Breach of the terms and conditions will render an entry invalid.