Skip to main content
Add to favourites

Celebrating the Premier’s Literary Prizes

Who will be on the 2017 longlist?


The Premier’s Literary Prizes are a biennial recognition of the best Tasmanian stories and Tasmanian writers. They are the State Government’s celebration of the richness of our literary sector and they acknowledge the particular influence that Tasmania has on written work.

Arts Tasmania has installed an exhibition at 146 ArtSpace that celebrates the prizes and the 20 books that have been longlisted in 2017.

The Premier’s Literary Prizes are unique in Australia in that a diverse range of books can be in contention in each of the prize categories. Works entered include children’s picture books, memoirs, graphic novels, histories, cookbooks, poetry, play scripts, literary fiction or non-fiction.

Previous winners of these literary awards include Quentin Beresford, Richard Flanagan, James Boyce, Rohan Wilson, Katherine Johnson, Kathryn Lomer, Karen Knight, Hamish Maxwell-Stewart, Lynne Andrews, Nicholas Shakespeare, Robert Dessaix, Christopher Cowles and David Walker.

The longlists for the Tasmania Book Prize and Margaret Scott Prize have been announced, they are:

Tasmania Book Prize – 2017 longlist

for the best book with Tasmanian content in any genre – $25 000

  • Losing Streak: How Tasmania was Gamed by the Gambling Industry by James Boyce
  • The Diemenois: Being the Correct and True Account of the Sensational Escape, Seclusion and Cruel Demise of a Most Infamous Man by J W Clennett
  • Archipelago of Souls by Gregory Day
  • Solomon’s Noose: The True Story of Her Majesty’s Hangman of Hobart by Steve Harris
  • Physick by Pete Hay
  • The Better Son by Katherine Johnson
  • Wild Island by Jennifer Livett
  • Fall of the Derwent by Justy Phillips and Margaret Woodward
  • Musquito: Brutality and Exile by Michael Powell
  • Into the Heart of Tasmania by Rebe Taylor

Margaret Scott Prize – 2017 longlist

for best book by a Tasmanian writer – $5 000

  • The Shape of Water by Anne Blythe-Cooper
  • In Brazil by Fran Bryson
  • Woven Landscape: Connections in the Tasmanian Midlands by Peter E Davies
  • A History of Port Davey, South West Tasmania, Volume One: Fleeting Hopes by Tony Fenton
  • The White Room Poems by Anne Kellas
  • South Pole: Nature and Culture by Elizabeth Leane
  • Shadows in Suriname by Margaretta Pos
  • The Museum of Modern Love by Heather Rose
  • Down the Dirt Roads by Rachael Treasure
  • Crocoite by Margaret Woodward

The shortlists for all the prizes will be announced at a special champagne reception on stage at the Theatre Royal on Thursday, 14 September at 6:00 pm as part of the Tasmanian Writers and Readers Festival.

The winners of the Premier’s Literary Prizes will be announced in late 2017.

The Premier’s Literary Prizes are delivered by Arts Tasmania on behalf of the Tasmanian Government and supported by the University of Tasmania and private philanthropists.

Get directions

Celebrating the Premier’s Literary Prizes

146 ArtSpace
146 Elizabeth Street, Hobart, Tasmania, 7000, Australia

Get directions