Skip to main content
Add to favourites

tidal 14

City of Devonport Art Award exhibition


Tidal: City of Devonport Art Award also known as Tidal was launched in 2004. The national biennial Award was initiated by then director Jane Stewart and the Special Committee of the Devonport Regional Gallery. In 2010 the Major Award was made acquisitive and prize money rose from $10,000 to $15,000. This was made possible by the hard work and support of the Gallery’s Friends Committee who raised the extra $5,000. Tidal is now recognised as a significant national award – not for the prize money alone, but because the issues surrounding ours seas and coastlines are very much on a global scale.

The Tidal Award attracts artists from across Australia at various stages in their careers. Previous major award recipients have included Patrick Pound, Neil Haddon, Marian Drew, Matthew Newton and Paul Snell. The Award provides a contemporary platform for artists to reflect upon the myriad perspectives and challenges inherent within the interconnections of land and sea while also encouraging excellence in conception, innovation and execution. These challenges may be personal or political, natural or cultural and therefore interpretations of the theme can vary considerably within a contemporary art context.

Artists in the exhibition include: Diane Allison, Tok Basuki, Michael Brennan, Tim Burns, Matt Calvert, Gabrielle Courtenay, Joel Crosswell, Angeleca Daniel, Amanda Davies, Isaac Fergusson, James Geurts, Janet Green, David Hawley, Petrina Hicks, Liam James, Kim Lehman, Sara Maher, Michael Muruste, Matthew Newton, Sarah Rhodes, Cath Robinson, Troy Ruffels, Paul Snell, Melissa Smith, Fiona Tabart, LeAnne Vincent, Catherine Woo.

Get directions

tidal 14

Devonport Regional Gallery
45-47 Stewart Street, Devonport, Tasmania, Australia

Get directions