Skip to main content
Add to favourites

Brahms Violin Concerto – Stefan Jackiw

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra


DVOŘÁK Serenade for Winds
KODÁLY Dances of Galánta
BRAHMS Violin Concerto

Like his idol Beethoven, Brahms wrote only one Violin Concerto and, like Beethoven’s, it’s a work of enduring appeal. Warm and affectionate, it traverses an astonishing emotional range, drawing upon the instrument’s full palette of colours. Treasured by the world’s leading violinists, it is performed in this concert by Stefan Jackiw, here making his much anticipated debut with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

Brahms’ ‘gypsy’ idiom comes to the fore in the dazzling finale of the concerto. Kodály likewise turned to folk music in his Dances of Galánta, brilliant orchestrations of music from the Galanta region of present-day Slovakia. Czech composer Dvořák pays homage to the wind music traditions of his native Bohemia in his sunlit Serenade for Winds while also casting a nod in the direction of the much loved wind serenades of Mozart.

Conductor: Andrew Gourlay

Violin: Stefan Jackiw

Get directions

Brahms Violin Concerto – Stefan Jackiw

Burnie Arts and Function Centre
77-79 Wilmot Street, Burnie, Tasmania, Australia

Get directions