Skip to main content
Add to favourites

TSO Tchaikovsky’s Sixth

Few orchestral works are as moving.


Few orchestral works are as moving as Tchaikovsky’s Sixth Symphony, which rises from the depths, soars to tremendous heights and slowly and gently fades into nothingness. It seems to contain within its four movements a lifetime’s worth of experiences. The fact that Tchaikovsky died within days of conducting the first performance adds to this extraordinary work’s uncanny mystique.

Internationally renowned pianist Simon Trpčeski makes his debut with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra in Liszt’s Piano Concerto No 2, a remarkable fusion of concerto and symphonic form by one of music’s most original artists.

Equally innovative is Berlioz’s dramatic symphony Roméo et Juliette, the “Love Scene” from which sets the tone for this emotionally charged concert.


Get directions

TSO Tchaikovsky’s Sixth

Federation Concert Hall
1 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

Get directions