Skip to main content
Add to favourites

2017 Premier’s Literary Prizes shortlists announcement


The Premier’s Literary Prizes are a biennial recognition of the best Tasmanian stories and Tasmanian writers. They are the State Government’s literary awards and celebrate the richness of our literary sector and acknowledge the particular influence that Tasmania has on written work.

They are unique in Australia in that such a diverse range of books can be in contention in each of the prize categories. Works entered include children’s picture books, memoirs, graphic novels, histories, poetry, play scripts, literary fiction or non-fiction.

The shortlisted books and writers for the 2017 Premier’s Literary Prizes will be announced at a special champagne reception on the mainstage at the Theatre Royal in Hobart.

Previous winners of these literary awards include: Quentin Beresford, Richard Flanagan, James Boyce, Rohan Wilson, Katherine Johnson, Kathryn Lomer, Karen Knight, Hamish Maxwell-Stewart, Lynne Andrews, Nicholas Shakespeare, Robert Dessaix, Christopher Cowles and David Walker.

The Premier’s Literary Prizes include:

Tasmania Book Prize – for best book with Tasmanian content in any genre – $25 000 – supported by the Tasmanian Government

The longlisted books are:

  • Losing Streak: How Tasmania was Gamed by the Gambling Industry by James Boyce
  • The Diemenois: Being the Correct and True Account of the Sensational Escape, Seclusion and Cruel Demise of a Most Infamous Man by J W Clennett
  • Archipelago of Souls by Gregory Day
  • Solomon’s Noose: The True Story of Her Majesty’s Hangman of Hobart by Steve Harris
  • Physick by Pete Hay
  • The Better Son by Katherine Johnson
  • Wild Island by Jennifer Livett
  • Fall of the Derwent by Justy Phillips and Margaret Woodward
  • Musquito: Brutality and Exile by Michael Powell
  • Into the Heart of Tasmania by Rebe Taylor

Margaret Scott Prize – for best book by a Tasmanian writer – $5 000 – supported by the University of Tasmania

  • The Shape of Water by Anne Blythe-Cooper
  • In Brazil by Fran Bryson
  • Woven Landscape: Connections in the Tasmanian Midlands by Peter E Davies
  • A History of Port Davey, South West Tasmania, Volume One: Fleeting Hopes by Tony Fenton
  • The White Room Poems by Anne Kellas
  • South Pole: Nature and Culture by Elizabeth Leane
  • Shadows in Suriname by Margaretta Pos
  • The Museum of Modern Love by Heather Rose
  • Down the Dirt Roads by Rachael Treasure
  • Crocoite by Margaret Woodward

University of Tasmania Prize – for the best new unpublished literary work by an emerging Tasmanian writer – $5 000 – supported by the University of Tasmania.

Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship – awarded to a young writer (aged 30 years and under) – $5 000 supported by private philanthropists.

The winners of the Premier’s Literary Prizes will be announced in late November 2017.

The Premier’s Literary Prizes are delivered by Arts Tasmania on behalf of the Tasmanian Government and supported by the University of Tasmania and private philanthropists.


Get directions

2017 Premier’s Literary Prizes shortlists announcement

Theatre Royal
29 Campbell Street, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

Theatre Royal

29 Campbell Street, Hobart

Get directions